2013 American Library Association (ALA) Youth Media Award Announcements ~ January 28th

Thursday, January 17th, 2013

Mark you calendar for the 2013 American Library Association (ALA) Youth Media Award announcements.

The ALA will announce 19 awards at 8 a.m. PT on Jan. 28 from the Washington State Convention Center in Seattle. The awards include the esteemed John Newbery Medal, Randolph Caldecott Medal, Coretta Scott King Book Awards and Michael L. Printz Award.

The awards honor children’s and young adult authors and illustrators, as well as producers of children’s audio and video materials. Recognized worldwide for the high quality they represent, the awards serve as a guide for parents, educators, librarians and those interested in providing youth with the very best reading and viewing materials.

This year marks the 75th anniversary for the Randolph Caldecott Medal. Presented every year since 1938, the Caldecott Medal is named for Randolph Caldecott, a 19th-century English illustrator known for the action, vitality and humor of his picture books. No other literary prize for children’s picture books has the economic significance of the Caldecott Medal. Receiving a Caldecott Medal practically guarantees that the winning title will remain in print and on library and bookstore shelves for decades to come. For example Dorothy P. Lathrop won the first Caldecott Medal in 1938 for “Animals of the Bible,” and 75 years later it is still available.

The ALA will provide a free live webcast of the announcements. Approximately 12,500 viewers are expected to join more than 1,300 onsite audience members. Live streaming efforts will begin the morning of the announcements at http://tinyurl.com/alaymawc13 , and connections will be available on a first-come, first-served basis.

Those unable to join the webcast can follow real-time results via Twitter @ alayma and the ALA Youth Media Awards Facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/alayma .

After the announcements, the ALA website at www.ala.org will feature an award wrap release detailing 2013 selections. Also later in the day winning authors will post video messages to the ALA Youth Media Awards YouTube Channel at http://www.youtube.com/ALAYouthMediaAwards .