2012 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award Nominees Will Be Announced October 13th

Tomorrow, October 13th, the nominees for the 2012 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award will be announced at the Frankfurt Book Fair. Larry Lempert, Chairman of the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award jury, will reveal the candidates at 17:10 hours. Prior to this announcement  journalist Andreas Platthaus from the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung will discuss the 2011 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award recipient, Shaun Tan, with Ralf Keiser, Carlsen Verlag and Dr. Christiane Raabe, International Youth Library. Click here to see the program for the announcement.

The Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award, which amounts to SEK 5 million (approx. $750,000 usd), is awarded annually to a single recipient or to several. Authors, illustrators, storytellers and promoters of reading may be rewarded. The award is for lifelong work or artistry rather than for individual pieces and the prize can only be awarded to living people. The body of work must uphold the highest artistic quality and evoke the deeply humanistic spirit that Astrid Lindgren treasured. For the past three years PaperTigers has had the honor of being a nominating body for the award.


Comments are closed.